Dual Language Learners in State Early Learning Guidelines and Standards

This resource provides a summary of how dual language learners (DLLs)* are represented in state early care and education guidelines and standards in two tables. Select a state or territory for more information.

  • A Snapshot of Dual Language Learners (DLLs) in State Early Learning Guidelines is an at-a-glance table that lists where DLLs are referenced in state and territory guidelines, standards, and supporting documents.
  • References to Dual Language Learners (DLLs) in State Early Childhood Guidelines and Standards includes portions of text from the state's and territory's guidelines or standards that refer to supporting dual language learners. Many states have more than one document that addresses early learning. Some of these are supporting and/or complementary documents to their standards.

    State guidelines, standards, and frameworks vary in format and content. Some include benchmarks and indicators as well as examples of what each might look like for children, and some have strategies caregivers might use in working with DLLs. Titles for state guidelines or standards may include: guidelines, framework, standards, foundations, and/or indicators.

* The term Dual Language Learners (DLLs) is used in Head Start to refer to children learning more than one language; elsewhere DLLs are often referred to as English Language Learners (ELLs), Limited English Proficient (LEP), English Learners (ELs), Non-English Speaking, English as a Second Language (ESL), and Bilinguals. These terms appear in these tables as the different states and territories wrote them.

National Center onCultural and Linquistic Responsiveness logo

California Oregon Nevada Washington Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas American Samoa Colorado Connecticut Delaware Federated States of Micronesia Florida Georgia Guam Hawaii Idaho Illinois Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Republic of Marshall Islands Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Missippi Missouri Montana Nebraska New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands Ohio Oklahoma Republic of Palau Pennsylvania Puerto Rico South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont U.S. Virgin Islands Virginia West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Delaware Maryland

Last Reviewed: March 2013

Last Updated: October 15, 2014