Effective Oct. 13, 2022, the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Xavier Becerra has extended the public health emergency that was initially declared on Jan. 27, 2020, and has been renewed every 90 days. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) has deeply impacted Head Start and Early Head Start programs, enrolled children and families, and their communities. The Secretary has the authority, under Section 319 of the Public Health Service Act, to determine that a public health emergency exists. Once a declaration is made, it remains in effect for 90 days and can be extended.
Effective March 7, 2023, all Head Start programs are required to have a COVID-19 mitigation strategy, developed in consultation with their Health Services Advisory Committee. Check out the collection of Head Start resources to learn more about how the requirements announced in the Final Rule will help mitigate the spread of COVID-19.
This section is regularly updated with guidance and resources from the Office of Head Start (OHS) to help all programs support staff, children, and families during this challenging time.
2/16/2023: COVID-19 Grant Closeout
In this webinar, staff from OHS and the Office of Grants Management discuss how to close out COVID-19 grants.
1/20/2023: Final Rule on Mitigating the Spread of COVID-19 in Head Start Programs
Watch this webinar to hear OHS leadership discuss the Final Rule on Mitigating the Spread of COVID-19 in Head Start programs.
1/6/2023: ACF-PI-HS-23-01 Supplementary Information on Establishing an Evidence-based COVID-19 Mitigation Policy
This Program Instruction provides supplementary information to support Head Start grant recipients in developing the required evidence-based COVID-19 mitigation policy.
1/6/2023: Mitigating the Spread of COVID-19 in Head Start Programs
Read the Final Rule that requires Head Start programs to have an evidence-based COVID-19 mitigation policy, developed in consultation with their Health Services Advisory Committee (HSAC), by March 7, 2023.
9/21/2022: Litigation Update
As of Sept. 21, 2022, following a decision by the United States District Court for the Western District of Louisiana, implementation and enforcement of Vaccine and Mask Requirements to Mitigate the Spread of COVID-19 in Head Start Programs, 86 Fed. Reg. 68052 (Nov. 30, 2021) (the “Interim Final Rule” or “IFC”), is permanently enjoined in the following 24 states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming. Head Start, Early Head Start, and Early Head Start-Child Care Partnership grant recipients in those 24 states are not required to comply with the IFC.
9/16/2022: Head Start Mask Announcement
In the near future, the Administration for Children and Families intends to publish a final rule to formally remove the requirement for masking in Head Start programs.
8/29/2022: Pediatric Vaccines and Other COVID-19 Considerations for Program Year 2022-23
View this webinar to learn more about the most up to date COVID-19 health and safety information as well as strategies for increasing pediatric vaccination uptake.
8/22/2022: Masks and Vaccines in Head Start Programs
As the 2022-2023 program year begins, Katie Hamm provides an update on the COVID-19 mitigation requirements for Head Start programs. The Office of Head Start is working hard to finalize these regulations.
7/1/2022: Joint Letter About COVID-19 Vaccinations for Children Ages 6 Months to 5 Years
Read a letter from the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services (HHS) and Education (ED) about encouraging parents and guardians to understand and access COVID-19 vaccines for all children 6 months of age and older, which will be available at no cost. It features resources to help early care and education programs connect parents with trusted medical providers, distribute accurate and easy-to-read vaccine information, and partner with community health care providers to host a COVID-19 vaccination clinic.
6/24/2022: Vaccination for Head Start Children
Get the latest CDC guidance on COVID-19 vaccination for children aged 6 months to 5 years. Find resources to share accurate information about the pediatric vaccine.
6/1/2022: Expectations for the 2022-2023 Program Year
Watch this webinar to hear updated guidance from OHS leadership about the coming program year.
For older information, see Archived OHS COVID-19 Updates.
Resource Type: Article
National Centers: Office of Head Start
Last Updated: March 3, 2023