About Us

National Head Start Fellows Announced

The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced the 2023–2024 fellows for the National Head Start Fellowship Program. These five distinguished fellows will embark on a year-long journey at the ACF headquarters, gaining invaluable national policy and programmatic experience that will energize their ongoing work in communities across the country.

The National Head Start Fellowship Program has been a beacon of excellence since its commencement in 1996, empowering local Head Start staff and professionals in 17 outstanding classes to date. National Head Start fellows will work side-by-side with federal staff while engaging in robust professional and leadership development, mentorship, and extensive networking opportunities with prominent national early childhood organizations and leaders.

“My selection as a Head Start fellow placed me on a 22-year trajectory of rich and exciting experiences in the Head Start field,” said Khari Garvin, ACF Office of Head Start director and 1999–2000 national Head Start fellow. “I have since had the privilege of designing and leading systems serving children and families in low-income communities at local, state, and national levels.”

Congratulations to the 2023–2024 national Head Start fellows:

  • Deidre Jones, Neighborhood House Association, vice president early childhood development, San Diego, CA
  • Marissa Mota, San Francisco Department of Early Childhood, administrative analyst, Berkeley, CA
  • Scarlett To, Washington State Association Head Start and Early Childhood Education and Assistance Program, program manager, Seattle, WA
  • Claire Webster, Urban League of Metro St. Louis, mental health coordinator, St. Louis, MO
  • Althea Wilson, Washtenaw Intermediate School District, early childhood specialist, Ypsilanti, MI