Children with Disabilities

ECTA List of Part C Lead Agencies

As a means to building collaborative relationships with state Part C providers, the list identifies the lead agency for Part C services in each state and territory. Disabilities coordinators, Technical Assistance Providers, parents of children with disabilities, and Early Head Start partners will be able to determine which agency to contact regarding infant and toddlers with disabilities. This list also demonstrates the variation between states in designation of Part C responsibilities. 

The following section is provided courtesy of the Early Childhood Technical Assistance (ECTA) Center.

State/Jurisdiction1, 2 Lead Agency/Lead Agency Subdivision
Alabama Rehabilitation Services
Alaska Health and Social Services
American Samoa Health
Arizona Economic Security
Arkansas Human Services/Developmental Disabilities
California Developmental Services
Colorado Human Services/Developmental Disabilities
Connecticut Developmental Services
Delaware Health and Social Services
District of Columbia Education
Florida Health
Georgia Maternal and Child Health/Public Health
Guam Education
Hawaii Health
Idaho Health & Welfare
Illinois Human Services
Indiana Family and Social Services
Iowa Education
Kansas Health and Environment
Kentucky Health and Family Services/Public Health
Louisiana Health and Hospitals/Developmental Disabilities
Maine Education
Maryland Education
Massachusetts Public Health
Michigan Education
Minnesota Education
Mississippi Health
Missouri Education
Montana Public Health and Human Services
Nebraska Education and Health and Human Services (Co-Lead)
Nevada Health and Human Services
New Hampshire Health and Human Services
New Jersey Health and Senior Services
New Mexico Health/Developmental Disabilities Support Division
New York Health
North Carolina Health and Human Services
North Dakota Human Services
Northern Mariana Islands Education
Ohio Health
Oklahoma Education
Oregon Education
Pennsylvania Public Welfare
Puerto Rico Health
Rhode Island Executive Office of Health and Human Services
South Carolina First Steps to School Readiness
South Dakota Education
Tennessee Education
Texas Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Utah Health
Vermont Education and Human Services (Co-Lead)
Virgin Islands Health
Virginia Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
Washington Early Learning
West Virginia Health and Human Resources
Wisconsin Health Family
Wyoming Health

1 Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Marshall Islands and Republic of Palau are not currently eligible for this federal program. 

2 The Department of the Interior (DOI) receives allocation from the U.S. Department of Education, which then is distributed by DOI to tribes. 

The most up-to-date link can be found here: