State Coordinators for the Education of Children and Youth Experiencing Homelessness

The McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act ensures educational rights and protection for children and youth experiencing homelessness. This document provides the list of State Coordinators who are responsible for ensuring the continued education of youth who are experiencing homelessness.

 


Alabama

Ms. Sallye R. Longshore
Education Administrator-Federal Programs Section
Alabama Department of Education
5348 Gordon Persons Building
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36130-2101
Phone: (334) 242-8199
Fax: (334) 242-0496
Email: slongshore@alsde.edu

Alaska

Ms. Melora Gaber, Program Manager
Education of Homeless Children & Youth Program
Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
Juneau, AK 99801-0500
Phone: (907) 465-8707
Fax: (907) 465-2989
Email: Melora_Gaber@eed.state.ak.us

Arizona

Mr. Frank Migali
Education Program Specialist
State Coordinator for Homeless & Refugee Education
Arizona Department of Education
1535 W. Jefferson Street, BIN #32
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 542-4963
Fax: (602) 542-3100
Email: frank.migali@azed.gov

Arkansas

Dr. Reginald Wilson
Interim Homeless Education Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Education
State Education Building
4 State Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201-1071
Phone: (501) 682-1059
Fax: (501) 683-5391
Email: Reginald.Wilson@arkansas.gov

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Mr. Fred Shunkamolah
DCMA/Bureau of Indian Affairs
1011 Indian School Rd., NW, Suite 332
P.O. Box 1088
Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone: (505) 563-5263
Fax: (505-563-5281
Email: fshunkamolah@bia.edu

California

Ms. Leanne M. Wheeler
Consultant
School & District Accountability Division
NCLB Implementation & Coordination Office
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, 6th Floor, Suite 6208
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-0383
Fax: (916) 322-5092
Email: lwheeler@cde.ca.gov

Colorado

Ms. Dana Scott, State Coordinator
Education of Homeless Children and Youth
Colorado Department of Education
201 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80203-1799
Phone: (303) 866-6930
Fax: (303) 866-6785
Email: scott_d@cde.state.co.us

Connecticut

Mr. Louis B. Tallarita
Associate Education Consultant
Div. Of Teaching and Learning Programs & Services
State Department of Education
25 Industrial Park Road
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 807-2058
Fax: (860) 807-2127
Email: Louis.Tallarita@ct.gov

Delaware

Mr. Dennis Rozumalski
Education Associate
Student Services and Special Populations
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite #2
Dover, DE 19709
Phone: (302) 735-4273
Fax: (302) 739-4483
Email: drozumalski@doe.k12.de.us

District of Columbia

Ms. Deltonia N. Shropshire, M.L.A.
Program Coordinator
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
DC Public Schools, Office of Transitory Services
Room 2020, Hamilton Building
1401 Brentwood Parkway, N.E.
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 698-3321
Fax: (202) 698-6058
Email: Deltonia.Shropshire@dc.gov

Florida

Ms. Lorraine Allen
Director, State Homeless Education Program
Florida Department of Education
Bureau of Student Assistance
325 West Gaines, Suite 352
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Phone: (850) 245-0668
Fax: (850) 245-0670, (850) 245-0683
Email: Lorraine.Allen@fldoe.org

Georgia

Ms. Belinda Jones
State Coordinator
Georgia Department of Education
Suite 1858, East Tower
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: (404) 656-4148
Fax: (404) 651-9111
Email: bjones@doe.k12.ga.us

Hawaii

Ms. Judy Tonda
Resource Teacher for Homeless Concerns
Federal Programs
Special Programs Management Section
595 Pepeekeo Street
Building H-1
Honolulu, HI 96825
Phone: (808) 394-1394
Fax: (808) 394-1388
Email: judy_tonda@notes.k12.hi.us

Idaho

Ms. Suzette Gitchel
Student Achievement/School Accountability
Coordinator, Title I
Idaho Department of Education
650 W. State Street, P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0027
Phone: (208) 332-6946
Fax: (208) 334-2094
Email: SLGitchel@sde.idaho.gov

Illinois

Ms. Marica Cullen
Homeless Education Coordinator
Illinois State Board of Education
Curriculum & Instruction Division
100 North First Street C-215
Springfield, IL 62777-0001
Phone: (217) 557-7323
Fax: (217) 782-7937
Email: mcullen@isbe.net

Indiana

Ms. Christina Endres
Team Leader
Student Learning Choices
Indiana State Department of Education
Room 229 State House
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 232-0548, (800) 833-2199
Fax: (317) 233-9293
Email: endres@doe.in.gov

Iowa

Ms. Donna Eggleston
Bureau of Instructional Services
State Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
Phone: (515) 281-3999
Fax: (515) 242-6025
Email: donna.eggleston@iowa.gov

Kansas

Mr. Tate Toedman
Educational Program Consultant
State and Federal Programs
Kansas State Department of Education
120 SE 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
Phone: (785) 296-6714
Fax: (785) 296-5867
Email: ttoedman@kdse.org

Kentucky

Ms. Mary Marshall
Homeless Consultant
Kentucky Department of Education
500 Mero St., Room 823
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502) 564-3791
Fax: (502) 564-8149
Email: mary.marshall@education.ky.gov

Louisiana

Ms. Laverne Dunn
State Coordinator -Homeless Education
Louisiana Department of Education
Div. of Educational Improvement and Assistance
Ancillary Resources Section
P.O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Phone: (225) 215-0353
Fax: (225) 342-0178
Email: Laverne.Dunn@la.gov

Maine

Ms. Shelley Reed
Truancy and Dropout Prevention
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0023
Phone: (207) 624-6637
Fax: (207) 624-6789
Email: shelley.reed@Maine.gov

Maryland

Dr. Bill Cohee
Homeless Education Coordinator
Maryland State Department of Education
Division of Student, Family and School Support
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201-2595
Phone: (410) 767-0945
Fax: (410) 333-8010
Email: wcohee@msde.state.md.us

Massachusetts

Mr. Peter D. Cirioni
State Coordinator
Education of Homeless Children & Youth
Massachusetts Department of Education
350 Main Street
Malden, MA 02148
Phone: (781) 338-6294
Fax: (781) 338-6332
Email: pcirioni@doe.mass.edu

Michigan

Ms. Linda A. Forward
Interim State Coordinator of Homeless Education
Michigan Department of Education
Academic Services
608 W. Allegan, P.O. Box 30008
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 517-373-8480
Fax: (517) 335-2886
Email: ForwardL@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Mr. John Moorse, Interim Contact
Minnesota Department of Education
Homeless, Neglected & Delinquent Children & Youth
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN 55113-4266
Phone: (651) 582-8579
Fax: (651) 582-8727
Email: John.Moorse@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Mr. Kelsey Blumenberg
Homeless Children Education Program
359 North West Street
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205-0771
Phone: (601) 359-3499
Fax: (601) 359-2587
Email: KEBlumenberg@mde.k12.ms.us

Missouri

Ms. Kim Oligschlaeger
Supervisor Federal Discretionary
Dept. of Elementary & Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 522-8763
Fax: (573) 526-6698
Email: kim.oligschlaeger@dese.mo.gov

Montana

Mr. Terry Teichrow
State Contact, Homeless Program
Office of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 202501
Helena, MT 59620-2501
Phone: (406) 444-2036
Fax: (406) 444-3924
Email: tteichrow@mt.gov

Nebraska

Mr. Roger Reikofski, Coordinator
Education for Homeless Children & Youth
State Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94987
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-2968
Fax: (402) 471-0117
Email: roger.reikofski@nde.ne.gov

Nevada

Ms. Karen Stephens
Supervising Consultant
Federal Education Programs
Nevada Department of Education
700 East Fifth Street
Carson City, NV 89701-5096
Phone: (775) 687-9125
Fax: (775) 687-9120
Email: kstephens@doe.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Dr. Lynda Thistle Elliott
Education Consultant
Homeless Children and Youth
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-3840
Fax: (603) 271-2760
Email: LElliott@ed.state.nh.us

New Jersey

Ms. Danielle Anderson-Thomas
State Coordinator
Education for Homeless Children & Youth Program
New Jersey State Department of Education
P.O. Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625-0500
Phone: (609) 984-4974
Fax: (609) 292-1211
Email: danielle.anderson-thomas@doe.state.nj.us

New Mexico

Mr. Joseph Sanchez
McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Program Coord.
Public Education Department
School & Family Support Bureau
Workforce Training Center
5600 Eagle Rock Avenue, N.E., Room 201
Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone: (505) 222-4743
Fax: (505) 222-4759
Email: joseph.sanchez1@state.nm.us

New York

Ms. Patricia McGuirk
Program Manager for the Homeless
New York State Education Dept.
Room 375 EBA
Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234
Phone: (518) 473-1236
Fax: (518) 474-7948
Email: pmcguirk@mail.nysed.gov

North Carolina

Ms. Debra McHenry
State Coordinator Homeless Education
NCDPI/Compensatory Education
6351 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6351
Phone: (919) 807-3941
Fax: (919) 807-3968
Email: dmchenry@dpi.state.nc.us

North Dakota

Ms. Flo Hilzendeger
Homeless Education Coordinator
Title I Office
600 E. Boulevard Way
9th Floor, Dept. 201
Bismarck, ND 58504-0040
Phone: (701) 328-4646
Fax: (701) 328-4770
Email: fhilzendeger@nd.gov

Ohio

Mr. Thomas Dannis
State Coordinator
Homeless Children & Youth Program
Ohio Department of Education
25 South Front Street, Mail Stop 404
Columbus, OH 43215-4183
Phone: (614) 466-4161
Fax: (614) 752-1622
Email: Tom.Dannis@ode.state.oh.us

Oklahoma

Ms. Erin Clapper
Program Specialist
Title I Even Start/Homeless
Oklahoma State Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 311
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599
Phone: (405) 522-3251
Fax: (405) 521-2998
Email: Erin_Clapper@sde.state.ok.us

Oregon

Ms. Dona Horine Bolt
State Coordinator
Homeless Education Program
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203
Phone: (503) 947-5781
Fax: (503) 378-5156
Email: dona.bolt@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Mr. Sheldon Winnick
State Coordinator
Education for Homeless Children & Youth
Pennsylvania State Department of Education
333 Market St., 5th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
Phone: (717) 783-6468
Fax: (717) 783-6617
Email: swinnick@state.pa.us

Puerto Rico

Mr. Roger Campos
Homeless Education Coordinator
Puerto Rico Department of Education
Federal Affairs
P.O. Box 190759
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00919-0759
Phone: (787) 759-8910, ext. 210
Fax: (787) 751-6192
Email: campos_rog@DE.GOBIERNO.PR

Rhode Island

Ms. Kim Chouinard
Homeless Education Coordinator
Rhode Island Department of Education
Office of Instruction, Wte. 500
255 Westminster Place
Providence, RI 02903-3400
Phone: (401) 222-8477
Fax: (401) 222-2537
Email: Kim.Chouinard@ride.ri.gov

South Carolina

Ms. Brenda J. Myers
State Coordinator
McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Program
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street, Suite 808-B
Columbia, SC 29201-3799
Phone: (803) 734-3215, (888) 565-7261
Fax: (803) 734-3043
Email: bmyers@ed.sc.gov

South Dakota

Ms. Laura Johnson Frame
State Coordinator
Homeless Education Program
Department of Education & Cultural Affairs
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-2491
Fax: (605) 773-3782
Email: Laura.JohnsonFrame@state.sd.us

Texas

Ms. Barbara James
Office for the Education of
Homeless Children and Youth
University of Texas at Austin
Charles A. Dana Center
2901 IH-35
Austin, TX 78722
Phone: (512) 475-8765
Fax: (512) 471-6193
Email: babawawa@austin.utexas.edu

Tennessee

Ms. Karen Munn, Project Director
Division of Teaching and Learning
Tennessee Department of Education
5th Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0375
Phone: (615) 532-6309
Fax: (615) 532-8536
Email: Karen.Munn@state.tn.us

Utah

Mr. Kreig Kelley
Education Specialist
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
P.O. Box 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4200
Phone: (801) 538-7975
Fax: (801) 538-7991
Email: kreig.kelley@schools.utah.gov

Vermont

Ms. Wendy Jill Ross, State Director
Education for Homeless Children and Youth
Vermont Department of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: (802) 828-5148
Fax: (802) 828-0573
Email: wendy.ross@state.vt.us

Virginia

Dr. Patricia Popp, Coordinator
Education of Homeless Children & Youth Program
The College of William & Mary
School of Education
P.O. Box 8795
Williamsburg, VA 23187-8795
Phone: (757) 221-7776
Fax: (757) 221-2988
Email: homlss@wm.edu

Washington

Ms. Melinda Dyer
State Contact, Homeless Program
Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200
Olympia, WA 98504-7200
Phone: (360) 725-6050
Fax: (360) 664-3575
Email: Melinda.Dyer@k12.wa.us

West Virginia

Ms. Patricia Lucas
Homeless Education Coordinator
West Virginia Department of Education
Office of Institutional Education
Bldg. 6, Room 728
1900 Kanawha Blvd., East
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: (304) 558-8833, ext. 53244
Fax: (304) 558-6268
Email: plucas@access.k12.wv.us

Wisconsin

Ms. Mary Maronek
Coordinator
Education of Homeless Children & Youth Program
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
Phone: (608) 261-6322
Fax: (608) 267-0364
Email: mary.maronek@dpi.state.wi.us

Wyoming

Ms. Darlena Schlacter
Interim Education Program Consultant
Wyoming Department of Education
Federal Programs Unit
2300 Capitol Ave., Hathaway Bldg., 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-5315
Fax: (307) 777-6234
Email: dschla@educ.state.wy.us

 

Other Homeless Education Contacts

United States Department of Education

John McLaughlin, Ed.D.
Education Program Specialist
Federal Coordinator, Homeless, Neglected &
Delinquent Education Programs
U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW, Room 3C106
Washington, DC 20202-6132
Phone: (202) 401-0962
Email: john.mclaughlin@ed.gov

National Association for the Education of Homeless Children and Youth (NAEHCY)

Mr. Tim Stahlke, President
Texas Homeless Education Office (THEO)
Charles A. Dana Center
The University of Texas at Austin
2901 N IH 35, Room 2.200
Austin, TX 78722
Phone: (512) 475-9709
Fax: (207) 471-6193
Email: tstahlke@austin.utexas.edu

National Association for the Education of Homeless Children and Youth (NAEHCY)

Ms. Barbara Duffield
Policy Director
NAEHCY
4701 Connecticut Avenue, NW, #402
Washington, DC 20008
Phone: (202) 364-7392
Fax: (202) 318-7523
Email: bduffield@naehcy.org

National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty

Mr. Eric Tars
1411 K Street, NW, Suite 1400
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (202) 638-2535, ext. 211
Fax: (202) 628-2737
Email: etars@nlchp.org

National Center for Homeless Education

Ms. Diana Bowman
Director
P.O. Box 5367
Greensboro, NC 27435
Phone: (800) 755-3277
Fax: (336) 315-7457
Email: dbowman@serve.org

State Coordinators for the Education of Children and Youth Experiencing Homelessness. NCHE/ED. n.d. English. [PDF, 38KB].

Last Reviewed: November 2010

Last Updated: November 13, 2014